Built by military families for military families. Although built by military families, we do not represent any of the branches or interests of the military services. We are independent and operate on a not-for-profit basis. This allows us to remain independent and serve you to the best of our ability.We are open 24/7 and take suggestions via email email@example.com
Monday 08:00-16:00 Tuesday 08:00-16:00 Wednesday 08:00-16:00 Thursday 10:10- 16:00 Friday 08:00-16:00 Closed for lunch 11:45- 12:45 All Federal Days and Training Holidays are Closed
Figuring out the best way to get around is important when you’re in a new installation. It’s useful to understand the various regulations, local laws as well as license and registration requirements. Whether you need a driver’s license, transport a car overseas or want help buying a car, there are people to assist you at your new installation. Check out the topics below to find information and regulations on vehicles and registration at your base.
State laws vary when it comes to motor vehicle insurance requirements, licensing and registration. The term vehicle generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Service members and their families will want to understand their state’s laws on registration and licensing before moving to a new state. Visit the USA.gov Motor Vehicle Services page for links to state-specific websites.
Registration & Licensing Requirements
Georgia State law requires you to have sufficient liability insurance and a valid driver's license in order to operate a vehicle. The term "vehicle" generally includes automobiles, motorcycles, vans, trailers and boats regularly parked or garaged overnight. Further, your vehicle must be properly registered. Even though you are in the Military, you may be required to register your vehicle in-state and obtain an in-state l icense within a few months of moving. Access complete information on insurance, driver's l icensing, and where and how to register your vehicle by visiting the State Department of Motor Vehicles website.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services offers a 6 month grace period to all active-duty military stationed outside of Georgia when their license expires. Service members may drive in Georgia on an expired license during the 6 month grace period after returning or being reassigned to the state. Should you be given a ticket or citation for driving with an expired license, take your military papers with you to your local driver's license office and your ticket will be waived.
Hands Free Georgia Law HB673 (effective July 1, 2018); All drivers operating a motor vehicle on any highway of this state are prohibited from:
Holding or supporting, with any part of the body, a wireless telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic device.
Writing, sending or reading any text-based communication, including a text message, instant message, e-mail or internet data.
Watching, recording, or broadcasting a video or movie.
Registering Vehicles in Georgia
Non-resident military stationed in Georgia are not required to register their vehicles in Georgia as long as the vehicle displays valid license plates from their home state. There are two counties within Fort Benning: Chattahoochee and Muscogee. If you live in McGraw Manor or Custer Terrace you may register at the office in Uptown Columbus (Muscogee County). All other housing areas including Kelly Hill will need to register in Cusseta (Chattahoochee County).
If there is more than one owner, all parties must be present, or have a power of attorney to sign title application. For a leased vehicle, the original power of attorney from the leasing company is needed. To renew your registration you can get an ad valorem exemption tax form from the JAG office to avoid extra costs. USAREUR registrations are only valid for 30 days upon return from overseas.
When registering your vehicle you will need:
a military ID
title or manufacturer's certificate of origin
proof vehicle is covered with GA liability insurance
date of purchase
date of birth of the first person named on title
tag fee of $38 (cash or money order or credit card)
Muscogee County Motor Vehicle Tag Office is located at 3111 Citizens Way, Columbus, GA 31906 (706) 653-4208; Hours are Mon.-Fri. 8:30a.m. - 4:30p.m.
Chattahoochee County Motor Vehicle Tag Office is located at 215 McNaughton St. Cusseta, GA 31805. (706) 989-3897; Hours are Mon.-Fri. 8:00a.m.-4:00p.m.
Fort Benning' s driver services site is located on Main Post at 6691 Marchant Street, Building 217, . 866-754-3687 or 678-413-8400; Hours are Wed. and Thur. 9:00a.m. to 5:00p.m. The Fort Benning facility is a full service licensing center providing knowledge testing, driver's license and State identification card issuance, renewal and reinstatement services. Vehicle road testing is available by appointment.
Russell County DMV Automobile Tag & Drivers License Office is located at 1000 Broad St. Phenix City, AL 36867 (334) 298-1953; Mon.-Fri. Hours are 8:00a.m.- 4:30p.m.
Lee County Driver License Office is located at 1220 Fox Run Ave. Opelika, AL 36801 (334) 742-9986; Mon.- Fri. Hours are 8:00a.m.- 4:30p.m. Central Time
Registering Vehicles on Base
Fort Benning eliminated the need to register vehicles and obtain Department of Defense decals at Vehicle registration.
Visitors coming to Fort Benning, who do not have a federal government-issued identification card, will be subject to a background check before being allowed to enter the installation. Those who show a common access card (CAC card), Military ID, Military Dependent ID, or an Automated Installation Entry Card won't be affected.
This step is being taken to ensure that Fort Benning is in compliance with Homeland Security Presidential Directive 12, which requires that 100 percent of visitors be vetted prior to entering the installation. While this is a DoD-wide initiative, we are doing all we can to streamline the process for accessing Fort Benning.
To get your background check for an access pass to post, you can go to the Visitors Control Center at the Interstate 185 gate or you can submit a request online.
Speed Limit -- The Speed Limit on-post is 30 MPH unless otherwise posted. 15MPH during Physical Training, 6-7:30 am Mon-Fri (10MPH whenever passing troops)
Seat Belts -- Georgia State Laws requires the wearing of seat belts. Children under the age of four years need to be restrained with approved child restraint devices at all times when a vehicle is operated.
Georgia Laws defines DUI as 0.08% blood alcohol content (lowest in the USA). Do not operate any vehicle or machinery after drinking alcoholic beverages. Alcohol will not be consumed while on duty.
Motorcycles -- Army Motorcycle Safety Course is required for post registration. Riders must wear motorcycle helmets with fastened chin strap and shatter-resistant eye protection. Leather boots or shoes and gloves are a requirement. Long shirts and jackets with highly visible reflective vest are required.
Bicycles -- All bike riders are required to wear a helmet.
For more information regarding rules and regulations at the Fort Benning military installation, please contact the Directorate of Public Safety, Bldg 215, 706-545-1133 or DSN 312-835-1133.
State and local laws regulate the operation of motor vehicles, and these laws can vary by location.
You and your passengers must always wear seatbelts while driving, you will be ticketed and issued heavy fines if seatbelts are not secured. State law requires that all children under 5 years of age and 57" in height be properly restrained in child seats. Some states also require younger, smaller children to sit in the back seat.
Motorcycles and their operators are subject to special laws. If you own and operate a motorcycle, you must comply with those laws. Visit the State Department of Motor Vehicles website for more information.
Many States and local jurisdictions have strict laws about the use of cell phones and other digital devices while driving. Research these laws on the State Department of Motor Vehicles website. Tickets will be issued and fines assessed for violating these laws. Play it safe and always use a “hands free” device if you must use a cell phone or other PDA while driving. Hands-free devices must be used while operating a motor vehicle on ALL military installations worldwide.
Speed limits on Fort Benning are mostly 15-25 miles per hour. Watch for signs!
Speeds are reduced to 10 mph in the areas listed below at the times indicated for units and individuals to conduct physical training. Reduced speeds for Operation Slow Down do not apply on weekends or holidays.
Sand Hill 0530 - 0700 MON - FRI
Main Post 0600 - 0730 MON - FRI
Harmony Church 0530 - 0730 MON - FRI
Do not exceed 10 mph when passing troops in formation.
All vehicle operators driving on Fort Benning are prohibited from using cellular phones while driving unless the vehicle is safely parked or unless they are using a hands–free device.
Privacy & Cookies Policy
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website.